CJW - Header CJW - Group Members

 The Wilds Bunch

Dr. Christopher J. Wilds:

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Biological Chemistry.

e-mail: cwilds@alcor.concordia.ca
Dr. Anne M. Noronha:

Research Associate.

e-mail: anoronha@alcor.concordia.ca
Derek O'Flaherty:

Co-op student, summer 2008.
Synthesis of O4 alkyl thymidine analogs.

Nadia Schoonhoven:
M.Sc. student (co-supervised with Dr. M.J. Kornblatt, 04/2007- present). 
Investigation of the role of the protein O6-alkyl- guanine-DNA-alkyltransferase in interstrand cross-link repair in E.coli.

Gang Sun:
New methods to synthesize chemically-stable analogs of interstrand cross-linked DNA using organo-metallic reactions. These molecules will be used to study DNA repair pathways. Synthesis of modified thymidine nucleosides for single molecule biophysics experiments.
Francis McManus:
Synthesis of interstrand X-linked DNA duplexes with linkers designed to mimic lesions formed by certain chemo-therapeutic agents on DNA. The duplexes will be examined for their ability to serve as substrates or inhibitors of repair pathways such as that by human alkylguanine- DNA alkyl-transferase (hAgt).

  Past Members

Ernest Palus:

M.Sc. student (09/2003 - 07/2007).
Synthesis of 7-deaza-deoxyguanosine analogs as probes to investigate DNA repair.

Jason Booth:
Research assistant (09/2005 - 05/2006). Investigation of Pd-catalyzed coupling reactions at the C8 position of guanosine.

M.Sc. student (05/2006 - 01/2008).
Synthesis of nucleosides and oligonucleotides with O6-alkyl-deoxyguanosine cross-links.

Xu Fei:

B.Sc. Honours student (01/2007-08/2007).
Synthesis and physicochemical studies of a N1I-ethyl-N3T interstrand, cross-linked duplex.

Sebastian Murphy:
NSERC Undergraduate Summer Research Student (2007 and 2008).
Synthesis of modified DNA to probe the origins of resistance to chemo-therapeutic agents.
Amardeep Khaira:  Synthesis of a cross-linked nucleoside dimer that will be incorporated into a DNA duplex.  The molecule will be used in DNA repair studies using both human alkyl-guanine- DNA alkyltransferase (hAgt) and O6-alkyl- guanine-DNA-alkyltransferase (Ogt) from E. coli. Sabrina Taddeo:  
B.Sc. Science College 390 project (May - August 2007).  
Non-radioactive detection of DNA bending using an electrophoretic mobility shift assay.

Amira Mohamed:  Ph.D. student (co-supervised with Dr. R. Roy - UQAM).  Extraction, purification, structural characterization and biological properties of jojoba extracts (Simmondsia chenensis).
Virginie Placide:  Ph.D. (co-supervised with Dr. R. Roy - UQAM).  Synthesis of the breast cancer marker Thomsen-Friedenreich antigens in forms suitable for vaccine and dendrimer preparation.
Subhash Rauthu:  Ph.D (co-supervised with Dr. R. Roy - UQAM).  Design of selective ligands for conjugate drug targeting to human serum albumin (HAS) through cysteine-34 and -D-galactopyranoside inhibitors.
Jason Moscovici: B. Sc. Chem 419 (09/2004 - 04/2005). Synthesis of chemically modified nucleosides for use as anti-sense therapeutic agents.
Michael Wamberg:  Ph.D. student (visiting from Odense University, Denmark, 02/2005 - 08/2005).  Synthesis of C8 adducts of guanosine.
Rafael Languay:  B.Sc. Honours project (co-supervised with Dr. S. Robidoux, 09/2004 - 04/2005). Naphthalene diimide derivatization and incorporation into an oligonucleotide.
Alexander Tandel:  B.Sc. Chem 419 (01/2006 - 04/2006).  Investigation of triplex formation of a novel branched oligonucleotide.
Alexander Seelig:  B.Sc. Science College 390 project (01/2005 - 04/2005).  Evaluation of the Thermal Stability of Oligonucleotides containing a Phenyl-Ring Base Analog by UV-melting Experiments. 
Hao Peng:  B.Sc. Co-op work term (05/2004 - 08/2004).  Synthesis of nucleosides containing the sugar threose.

Some Group Photos

Amardeep Khaira, Francis McManus, Anne Noronha, Nadia Schoonhoven, Sebastian Murphy, Chris Wilds, Gang Sun (May 15, 2009).

Back row: Gang Sun, Chris Wilds, Francis McManus, Nadia Schoonhoven.
Front row: Amardeep Khaira, Derek O'Flaherty, Anne Noronha, Sebastian Murphy (October 24, 2008).

Graduation:  Xu Fei, Chris Wilds, Ernest Palus and Sabrina Taddeo (November 11, 2007).

Last revised: December 17, 2009 (ostee)